Beach Handball EURO

Gold for Norway and Spain as event generates unprecedented coverage

The Beach Handball EURO 2017 in Zagreb not only saw great matches but also enjoyed extensive media coverage across social media and TV.

Topping the podium at the event played in Zagreb, Croatia in June were the national beach teams of Norway (women) and Spain (men).

For Norway it was the first time they had won Europe's biggest beach handball event. Spain won gold in 2002 and 2006. Both had won silver two years ago at the Beach Handball EURO 2015.

Taking media coverage to new levels

The event received worldwide attention, with the final matches broadcast in several European nations as well as in Asia and the United States.

Social media and online figures also indicated a substantial and rising interest in the sport.

With media rights agency MP & Silva taking charge of the marketing of media rights, the Beach Handball EURO 2017 experienced increased interest from TV stations worldwide.

All matches played on centre court and court two were produced for either TV or live streaming.

A total of 28 matches were produced in full HD with six cameras, setting new standards in the TV production of the event.

The Beach Handball EURO 2017 was also present across all digital channels, including the official website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

Furthermore, for the first time, the semi-finals and finals were broadcast live on ehfTV with English commentary provided for the first time.

The ehfTV YouTube channel generated a watch time of more than two million minutes (almost four years) and event videos posted on Facebook were viewed more than 200,000 times.

Next stop Russia 2018

Silver and bronze went to Poland and Spain in the women's and to Russia and Croatia in the men's tournament respectively.

Another decision was taken in the men's match for fifth place which Sweden won 2:1 against Ukraine. The win booked the Scandinavian team the ticket to the IHF Beach Handball World Championships in 2018 in Russia.

Besides Sweden, Russia as hosts, Croatia as defending champions, Hungary and Spain will also join Europe’s top teams at the 16-nation event.

The women's teams qualified for the World Championships are defending champions Spain, hosts Russia, Norway, Poland, Denmark and Greece.